Film Review

Keanu Review

From the hilarious minds of Key & Peele comes a throwback to the classic 90s action/comedy featuring the cutest kitten ever to grace the big screen. 

keanu-poster

Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele star in this action/comedy as two friends posing as drug dealers to get back a stolen cat. Thats as simple a premise you can get to make a feature film. Then you add a couple of drug dealers in the mix and couple of psychopaths chasing them and you get Keanu.

Of course there is a lot more going on in the film than what you see on the surface, but I won’t be going into any spoilery details.

As a whole, I enjoyed this movie a great deal. The chemistry between the two leads is incredible and thats what keeps this film going. Some of the jokes, when they land, are hysterical. There is a George Michael bit that they go back to multiple times in the film…it had me in stitches. Then there are some that don’t and you can see them coming from a mile away…but it doesn’t matter because CUTEST CAT EVER!

My biggest complaint of this film is that there is too much focus on the action in this film, especially some of the gun battles. It feels like a lull in the film by the time the second gun battle comes around and had me scratching my head and waiting for it to end. I feel they should have focused more on making this an out and out comedy instead of adding multiple action sequences that go on a little too long for my liking.

Overall, I liked this film. I cannot deny that Key and Peele have got the chops and I definitely want to see more off them on the big screen. Some people have complained that this film feels like one of their skits stretched out. I have to disagree. This is definitely a feature film with a few issues that make it seem uneven.

My score: 6/10 which is a recommendation in my book.

Keanu is out in theatres today in the UK. Have you seen it? What did you think? Lets continue the discussion –Tweet me or find me on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

