Film · Film Review

Sing Street (2016) Review

The movie to beat this year isn’t a superhero movie or a big blockbuster action adventure, it is a small coming of age story by the name of Sing Streetsing-street-banner

Sing Street is about a teenager forming a band to try and impress a girl. What a fantastic film this is! If you have known me for any length of time, you will know that I am a sucker for coming of age stories. I am also a big fan of films based around music but aren’t musicals. John Carney has combined both and given us a heart-warming and deep story that I struggled to find a flaw in.

I absolutely adore Once and I really enjoyed Begin Again, but for me John Carney has surpassed himself with Sing Street. All the performances are magnificent, the music is amazing; It absolutely captures the mood and the feel of the 80s. The original songs are extremely catchy too!

The biggest selling point is the chemistry between the kids and the relationship between the main kid and his older brother. That is ultimately what the story is about. It shows what can be achieved through the power of kinship, whether its between siblings or friends.

Watch this movie at the first opportunity you get, you will not regret it.

My Score: 5/5

Sing Street is available now on DVD and video on demand. Have you seen it? What did you think? Lets continue the discussion –Tweet me or find me on Facebook.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sing Street (2016) Review

  1. Completely agree and so happy this is now available for home viewing so those who missed it in the theaters (I saw it three times) can finally watch it! By far my favorite movie of 2016. Nothing has even come close to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

