Film · Trailer

Big week in movie trailers!

This week we saw a whole bunch of new trailers for some highly anticipated movies. Here are some of the trailers that you may not be aware of. Watch them and let me know what you think. 

ddddd1de509dccf57e092a3ef4c3dda0

Justice League

Fuelled by his restored faith in humanity and inspired by Superman’s selfless act, Bruce Wayne enlists the help of his newfound ally, Diana Prince, to face an even greater enemy. (IMDb)

Say what you will about the current roster of DC movies, you cannot deny that this trailer looks awesome. Take this trailer on its own…it is beautiful insanity! Yes, the director Zach Snyder doesn’t have the greatest of records. Yes, Warner Brothers has had a lot of upheaval over the last year behind the scenes. Despite all that, we are watching our childhood dreams come to life so I can’t help but be optimistic and hope for the best. Also, stop moaning about the ‘not great’ CGI on Cyborg…they’ve still got 7 months to work on it.

Justice League comes out later this year on 17th November.


Spider-Man: Homecoming

Following the events of Captain America: Civil War, Peter Parker attempts to balance his life in high school with his career as the web-slinging superhero Spider-Man. (IMDb)

This is the second trailer for Spider-Man: Homecoming and we now have an idea of what the plot is going to be. We see a really intense father-son relationship developing between Tony Stark and Peter Parker. I really like the style of comedy this film is going for, especially the relationship between Peter Parker and his best friend. Vulture looks menacing too. However, I wish this trailer was shorter….much shorter! I really hope I haven’t seen the entirety of Peter’s arc from the film.

Spider-Man: Homecoming comes out soon on 7th July.


Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

A dark force threatens Alpha, a vast metropolis and home to species from a thousand planets. Special operatives Valerian and Laureline must race to identify the marauding menace and safeguard not just Alpha, but the future of the universe. (IMDb)

I know nothing of the original source material of this property and therefore I have no preconceived expectations from this movie. Having said that, I am really intrigued by this trailer. The world building looks epic and everything looks stunning; we all know Luc Besson knows a thing or two about bringing a bright and diverse world to life (The Fifth Element). Sure some of the acting looks a little dodgy and some of the jokes didn’t land for me but I saw enough to keep me interested.

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets comes out soon on 4th August in the UK.


IT

In a small town of Derry, Maine, seven children come face to face with life problems, bullies and a monster that takes the shape of a clown called Pennywise. (IMDb)

This dude creepy af! I’m not a big horror movie fan but this one got to me. A couple of very effective jump scares, a dank and creepy mood combined with a menacing and mesmerising creepy clown and you’ve got the makings of a great horror movie. I haven’t read Stephen King’s book that this is based on or watched the first It from the 90s. Maybe thats why this has me intrigued, maybe thats why this looks like a very effective and well made movie. Either way, I plan on watching this when this comes out.

It comes out later this year on 8th September.


War Machine

A rock star general bent on winning the ‘impossible’ war in Afghanistan takes us inside the complex machinery of modern war. (Netflix)

War Machine is one of many high production value projects with high calibre talent this year from Netflix. Hopefully we will get an in depth look into the business of war and the inner workings of things are done in a way we haven’t seen before. The tone of the movie looks really grounded with a hint of situational comedy; I like it. I think this will be an entertaining movie to watch.

War Machine comes out on 26th May on Netflix. 


War for the Planet of the Apes

After the apes suffer unimaginable losses, Caesar wrestles with his darker instincts and begins his own mythic quest to avenge his kind. (IMDb)

The trailer starts with some great moments harkening back to the previous two movies giving us the impression that this movie will tie it all together. We also go on to see that Woody Harrelson’s character is the antagonist but not evil. I make that distinction because I understand his motivations. I understand why he wants to wipe out the apes; I may not sympathise with his views but I understand where he is coming from. That is the mark of an unforgettable villain. The CGI looks amazing and the motion capture looks on point… kudos to Andy Serkis and co. This has the making of one of the greatest sci-fi trilogies of all time.

14th of July cannot come soon enough!


These are some of the most notable trailers to come out in the past 7 days. After you’ve watched them all, let me know what you think.

Which ones are you looking forward to the most? Let me know – Tweet me or find me on Facebook.

Stay awesome!

Leave a Reply

