Film · Film Review

Fast & Furious 8: The Fate of the Furious Review

The 8th instalment in this increasingly ridiculous but entertaining Fast & Furious franchise sees Dom and the crew face an enemy that once again threatens the bonds of ‘family’. Read my review…

the-fate-of-the-furious

There aren’t many franchises in which the 8th entry is more entertaining than the original. Harry Potter is one of the very few other ones that comes to mind. The Fast & The Furious franchise started off pretty bad and it got even worse up until the fourth instalment; but Fast Five made a turn for the better and I have been enjoying them ever since. Every single time I’ve left the cinema thinking ‘what can they possibly do next?’ and every time I’ve found my jaw on the floor. 

The Fate of the Furious has a mysterious woman seducing Dom into the world of terrorism and a betrayal of those closest to him; as a result the crew face trials that will test them as never before. (IMDb)

Let me start with the good. The main positive for me was the reveal of the reason behind Dom’s betrayal. Considering the kind of movie I was watching, the reveal had a surprising emotional pay off for me which I really appreciated. There is also a really nice nod to the roots of this franchise because we get to watch actual racing…its been a while. Big names like Kurt Russell and Charlize Theron are absolutely wonderful to watch on screen. They know exactly the kind of movie they are in and are brilliant at chewing scenery. The Rock and Jason Statham are great too! For me, Jason Statham was the best part of the movie.

Moving on to the bad…Vin Diesel. Every single person is acting circles around this guy and it was more obvious in this than ever before. But I can’t be too harsh, that is not what any of us expect from these movies. Also, when did this crew turn into highly trained assassins?  I can believe The Rock and Jason Statham being badasses because they are effectively trained soldiers. But the rest of them?? They are supposed to be racers. This was just way too ridiculous even for a Fast & Furious movie.

Overall, I had a lot of fun with this movie. Despite its shortcomings, there is enough there that I would recommend you watch it because you will have fun. F. Gary Gray knew exactly the kind of movie this is when making it and fully commits to the absurdity. I mean The Rock physically guides a submarine torpedo…literally…with his bare hands!!


My Score: 3/5 – Go watch it, turn your brain off and throw the physics you know out of the window and you’ll have fun.

Fast & Furious 8/The Fate of the Furious is out now. Have you seen it? What did you think? Which movie is your favourite from the franchise? Let me know – Tweet me or find me on Facebook.

If you liked this review, do me a favour and follow this blog by entering your email address and be notified as soon as a review is released.

Stay awesome!

Leave a Reply

