Film · Film Review

Film Review: Blade Runner (1982)

Set in a dystopian future where man-made androids have gone rogue, so the ‘Blade Runners’ must hunt them down and assassinate them. This was my first viewing of what many believe to be a masterpiece. Read my review…

I have been told for many years that I should watch Blade Runner, that it is a sci-fi masterpiece and a classic. I finally succumbed after watching what was a really intriguing trailer for the sequel Blade Runner 2049. It also took me a while to figure out which version to watch and finally figured out ‘The Final Cut’ is the one to watch.

To start off, I really enjoyed this movie. I really liked the technical aspects of the movie. It is visually beautiful; this is how the future was envisioned by those living in the 70s and 80s. Not only that, the dystopian future was portrayed in a really immersive way. Especially with the aid of long, lingering shots of the skyline, stretching out scenes for a further 15-20 seconds more than what was necessary for the plot and with the cyberpunk demeanour of the world. All this contributing to the really immersive nature of the world we are watching on screen.

The performances overall were really great. Rutger Hauer especially shines as Roy Batty, the leader of the group of rogue cyborgs. The only weak link for me was M. Emmet Walsh’s Captain Bryant; I found his performance and line delivery to be wooden everytime he was on screen.

Beyond the technical aspects, I also really liked the philosophical debate the movie proposes. It attempts to tackle several topics that we as mankind struggle with. Through the actions of the replicants, the movie is trying to question what humanity is. The only way to differentiate between a human and a replicant in the movie is that a replicant is labelled as such by someone else. There is also the moral quandary of humans playing god. Humans are flawed creatures that will go to tremendous lengths to achieve immortality, even if it is achieved vicariously through cyborgs created in our own image.

Humans are flawed creatures that will go to tremendous lengths to achieve immortality, even if it is achieved vicariously through cyborgs created in our own image.

I did, however, find the romance between Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford) and Rachael (Sean Young) to be unearned. The movie did not do enough for me to believe that there was enough between these two characters for them to fall in love.

Overall, this is an exemplary story told masterfully by director Ridley Scott that comments on philosophical topics that humans have been pondering for generations and will continue to do so for generations to come. I look forward to rewatching this and gain a further understanding of the themes the movie tackles.


My Score: 4/5 – I understand why this is considered one of the best and most important sci-fi movies. Watch it immediately if you haven’t already.

I am sure most of you reading this have already watched this. Let me know your thoughts in the comments. Please be sure to share this with your friends and follow this blog. You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

Stay Awesome!

2 thoughts on “Film Review: Blade Runner (1982)

Leave a Reply

