Film · Film Review

Film Review: I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (2017)

When a depressed woman is burglarized, she finds a new sense of purpose by tracking down the thieves alongside her obnoxious neighbour. But they soon find themselves dangerously out of their depth against a pack of degenerate criminals. (IMDb) Read my review of Netflix’s I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore…

I don't feel at home in this world anymoreMan, that is a very long title! Melanie Lynskey plays Ruth, a downtrodden woman who is tired of life, is used to being pushed around by others and just can’t be bothered with anything anymore. She has lost the ability to empathise and nothing matters to her. The burglary of her house and the loss of her grandmother’s silver is the last straw for Ruth as she decides to take matters into her own hands. Watch the trailer…

The performances of the two main characters are very good. Melanie Lynskey does a very good job of portraying a downtrodden woman. While Elijah Wood’s over the top randomness and nonchalant attitude as Tony is a perfect contrast to Ruth. He seems like the right person to give Ruth the confidence she needs to break out of the mundanity of her life. I am really liking Elijah Wood’s career decisions over the last few years; I have been really impressed by the likes of Maniac, Wilfred and Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (also from Netflix). There is a lot of dark humour on display which caught me off guard for a while. It is the ‘real life’ kind of comedy that a lot of people can relate to.

Unfortunately, that is it for my positives for this movie. The pacing for this movie doesn’t feel right to me; this is often affected by unnecessary lingering shots that add nothing to the narrative. The passage of time is also a little confusing to me. For example, there is a montage in the middle of the movie that suggests a passage of weeks but is in fact only a day. Some of the other characters were either misused to just felt unnecessary. The police detective’s behaviour and motivation are very erratic. Jane Levy is completely wasted. Such a great talent and she barely has 3 lines in the movie.

Without spoiling anything, I also did not like some of the characters and plot turns as they made no sense to me. Overall, I enjoyed the performances of the two main characters as well as their chemistry with each other. However, the movie overall felt like a mishmash of two separate movies and as a result, neither plot lines lead to any sort of satisfying end.


My Score: 2.5/5 – Probably give it a miss in my opinion. However, you should keep in mind that I am in the minority for not being too hot on this movie. If you do decide to watch it, make up your own mind and let me know.

I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore is available to stream now on Netflix. If you have seen it already, what did you think? Let me know in the comments below. Or you can always find me on Facebook and Twitter.

Stay Awesome!

2 thoughts on “Film Review: I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (2017)

Leave a Reply

