Film · Film Review

Film Review: Free Fire (2016)

Free Fire is a story about a meeting in a warehouse between two gangs for an arms deal turning into a shootout and a game of survival. Read my review…

Free Fire

Free Fire has a lot going for it. It is quite a feat getting big talents such as Oscar Winner Brie Larson, Armie Hammer, Cillian Murphy, Sharlto Copley and many more for a movie that has a reported production budget of below $10 million. The trailers were really good and seemed very energetic and exciting. Check it out and please be aware that this movie is rated R/15

My favourite thing about this movie is the really dry, dark and morbid humour; largely relayed through the fantastically quippy dialogue. I also immensely enjoyed Armie Hammer’s ‘I don’t give a f#ck’ attitude. I also really liked how the movie was set up. Ben Wheatley does a very good job of giving us just enough to understand personalities of all the characters within minutes of seeing them on screen.

There isn’t much to the movie in terms of the plot. The entire movie revolves around stupid decisions by some of the characters. But after a while, the aggregation of stupidity was too much for me to accept. So much so that I was audibly groaning at the screen. Another criticism is that even at 90 minutes, the movie seemed stretched out to me. I think this should have been the screenplay for a tv episode. The first time I caught myself looking at my watch, there was still 35 minutes left in the movie! Also, for a bunch of gangsters, these guys sure don’t know how to aim a gun.

Overall, I found Free Fire to lack substance and depth. As a result, I was a little bored at times during the movie. I did, however, chuckle a bunch of time and enjoyed watching the talent on display.


My Score: 2.5/5 – It’s not really a recommendation but feel free to give it a try if you are fans of the talent involved.

Have you had a chance to watch this already? Please share your thoughts on how you found the movie. Leave your thoughts in the comments below or find me on Facebook and Twitter.

If you enjoyed this review, make sure you subscribe to this blog via email to stay up to date on the latest content.

Stay Awesome!

Leave a Reply

