Film · Film Review

Film Review: A Street Cat Named Bob (2016)

The feel good story of how a stray cat changed the life of James Bowen, a busker and a recovering drug addict. Read my review…

A Street Cat Named BOB

Upon suggestion from a good friend of mine, I finally decided to give this one a try and I am glad that I did. A Street Cat Named Bob is a nice little feel good movie with its heart in the right place. It is a very uplifting story about someone who manages to turn their life around through hardships and challenges with the help of a furry little friend. Check out the trailer…

Like I said before, this is a very uplifting and heartwarming story. Luke Treadaway as James Bowen is very endearing and likeable to watch; he’s a pretty good singer too. The story develops at a very good pace as you get to know James and the hardship he is going through. I was easily swept up into James and Bob’s story together. I haven’t read the novel that this movie is based on so I am not sure whether the way the story developed is down to the writing or down to the director Roger Spottiswoode. Either way, I liked it. 

Some of the messages the movie is trying to convey are a little on the nose and not subtle at all; I had to roll my eyes a few times. Speaking of the hardships James faces, some of the tension feels too contrived for my liking and felt a bit over the top. I also found the story to be predictable.

But I still enjoyed it nonetheless, even if I could tell where the story is going. Every turn in the story put a smile on my face. I wish the movie was a little shorter and it didn’t have a bunch of false endings. But its heart is in the right place and you just want to go along for the ride. Besides, I am a sucker for struggling musicians on screen.

Overall, A Street Cat Named Bob is a nice, feel good movie that warmed my heart. Luke Treadaway is endearing and makes us believe in the two-way relationship between James and Bob. It has its flaws but I am definitely glad to have watched this movie.


My Score: 3.5/5 – Definitely give it a watch…it will put a smile on your face for sure.

Have you watched A Street Cat Named Bob? What did you think about it? Did you enjoy it? Share your thoughts in the comments below or hit me up on Facebook and Twitter.

If you enjoyed this review, make sure you subscribe to my blog via email to stay up to date on the latest content.

Stay Awesome!

Leave a Reply

