Film · Film Review

Film Review: King Arthur: Legend of the Sword (2017)

The tale as old as time of Arthur and the legendary Excalibur told with a Guy Ritchie flair. Check out my review…

King Arthur

Robbed of his birthright, Arthur comes up the hard way in the back alleys of the city. But once he pulls the sword from the stone, he is forced to acknowledge his true legacy – whether he likes it or not. Check out the trailer…

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword is an absolutely gorgeous looking movie. I am a fan of Guy Ritchie’s sensibilities and flair that we normally see in his movies and that is definitely present in this one. When I watched the trailer for the first time, the rough and tumble cockney accent threw me a little. But it worked for me within the movie itself. Charlie Hunnam fits perfectly in a Guy Ritchie King Arthur movie and I enjoyed his performance greatly. Everyone else put in a good performance too…except the mage played by the stunning Astrid Bergès-Frisbey. She was very wooden and I am inclined to think she was just completely disinterested; I really enjoyed her work in I Origins. 

I also enjoyed Guy Ritchie’s direction for the most part. There is a great montage scene at the beginning that chronicles Arthur’s time from a young boy to an adult where the meat of the story begins. I thought the editing worked really well for the most part too. There is some very effective editing to give out exposition by showing scenes acted out….very creative. However, sometimes this type of editing was used to show something that we had literally seen 2 minutes ago. This really bugged me. The overuse of slow motion was quite jarring at times too.

There are a few other little tidbits that I really liked too. The comedy really fits the tone and is very well distributed throughout the movie. I liked this version of the legendary sword Excalibur. The dichotomy of the subtle magic around the sword and the devastating destruction it can wreak was very interesting. The energetic score also added a lot to the overall feel and tone of a Guy Ritchie movie based on the Arthurian legend.

Overall, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword is a fairly entertaining version of the legendary story of Arthur and Excalibur told with the Guy Ritchie flair. There is a lot of style of show with good performances, gorgeous cinematography and good CGI for the most part. I just wish the movie was a little shorter.


My score: 3/5 – Which is a recommendation in my book.

Have you seen King Arthur: Legend of the Sword? What is your favourite version of this King Arthur story? Share your thoughts in the comments below or hit me up on Facebook and Twitter.

If you enjoyed this review, make sure you subscribe to my blog via email to stay up to date on the latest content.

Stay Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

